Skip to main content

Student TV Anchors, Reporters Win Top Newscast Award from Emmy Organization


View as a pdf

Broadcast students who work with Journalism and Communication's TV channel, A-TV, won the Best Newscast award from the academy that also organizes the Emmy Awards. The news program is broadcast regularly from the department's multimedia computer newsroom and TV studio.

Broadcast students in the Department of Journalism and Communication at Utah State University took home the award for Best Newscast from the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences’ university competition.

NATAS, the organization responsible for the Emmy Awards, announced the Student Production Awards Oct. 14 in a ceremony prior to its Regional Emmy Awards gala.

The news team for A-TV beat out considerable competition for the honor, said Brian Champagne, JCOM lecturer and a veteran news reporter and videographer. A-TV is the university’s private cable TV system.

ATV’s magazine news program “Cache Rendeavous,” also earned a first place for its 2016 Christmas edition. The show was produced by Aimee Cobabe; contributers were Brock Damjanovich, Emily Duke, Tess Griffeth, Claire King, Abbie Lewis, Ben Nielsen, Natalie Nix, Morgan Pratt, Mark Rosa and Kalen Taylor.

This is the second year that USU has brought home Best Newscast, said Champagne. In 2016, the award was shared with the Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Communication at Arizona State University.

Students Claire King and Abbie Lewis also received nominations for individual work.

Contact: Brian Champagne, 435-797-3220,